BOARD MINUTES BEMENT COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT 5 REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION MAY 13, 2020

The regular meeting of the Bement Community Unit School District 5 Board of Education was held Wednesday, May 13, 2020 remotely due to COVID-19. The meeting was called to order by board president Todd Scott at 7:02 p.m.

Board members present were Janice Fogerson, Todd Scott, Denise Strack, Trixie Stoerger-Flavin, Layna Somers, Kyle Rogers and Jeff Funk.

Mr. Kepley gave his middle school/high school principal's report on plans for 8th grade promotion and high school graduation.

Dr. Greenwood gave her superintendent's report on a Chromebook donation, CARES Act funding and planning for the 2020-2021 school year.

A motion was made by Funk and seconded by Somers that the closed session minutes of the April 15, 2020 regular meeting of the board of education be approved as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Fogerson and seconded by Stoerger-Flavin that the open session minutes of the April 15, 2020 regular meeting of the board of education be approved as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Stoerger-Flavin and seconded by Fogerson that the board accept and pay all bills as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

The board reviewed the treasurer's report.

A motion was made by Strack and seconded by Scott that the board adjourn to closed session at 7:32 p.m. to discuss the appointment, compensation, and performance of specific employees and the semi-annual review of closed session minutes. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Funk that the board return to open session at 8:24 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Strack and seconded by Scott that the board keep the closed session minutes closed in their entirety due to the sensitive nature of the material. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Stoerger-Flavin and seconded by Scott that the board hire Tamara Ripley for the part-time high school math position for the 2020-2021 school year. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Fogerson and seconded by Funk that the board approve the school fees for the 2020-2021 school year. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote. A motion was made by Stoerger-Flavin and seconded by Scott that the board approve the rehiring of Rachel Riley-Halliday as long-term Spanish sub for the 2020-2021 school year. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Funk and seconded by Scott that the board approve the rehiring of Donna Sharp and Randy Bishop as co-guidance counselors for the 2020-2021 school year. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Somers and seconded by Stoerger-Flavin that the board accept the resignation of Tim Dooling as Math/English teacher effective at the end of the 2019-2020 school year. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Strack and seconded by Fogerson that the board accept the resignation of Alex McMillan as the CGB high school volleyball assistant coach effective immediately. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Somers that the board accept the resignation of Hillary Bragg as the middle school assistant girls' basketball coach. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Stoerger-Flavin and seconded by Funk that the board accept the resignation of Brenda Lewis as Art teacher effective at the end of the 2019-2020 school year. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Funk that the board approve the PRESS Plus updates as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Strack that the board approve the MOU extension with the Bement Education Association. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Funk and seconded by Scott that the board adjourn at 8:36 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

BOARD PRESIDENT

BOARD SECRETARY