## BOARD MINUTES BEMENT COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT 5 REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION MAY 10, 2017

The regular meeting of the Bement Community Unit School District 5 Board of Education was held Wednesday, May 10, 2017 in the FACS room. The meeting was called to order by board vice-president Todd Scott at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were Kyle Rogers (by phone), Jeff Funk, Jeanne Strack, Janice Fogerson, Trixie Stoerger-Flavin, Denise Strack and Todd Scott.

Mrs. Greenwood presented Volunteer of the Year awards to Michelle Watzlawick and Pam Jarboe.

Mr. Kepley introduced Kate Rugless to the board. Mrs. Rugless will be the high school math teacher and assistant volleyball coach in 2017-2018.

Mr. Kepley gave his middle school/high school report on athletics, prom and upcoming events.

Mrs. Greenwood gave her elementary school report on end of the year activities, the upcoming kindergarten class size and the Bement Bulldog Boosters welcome back event in August.

Mrs. Greenwood gave her superintendent's report on waiting for the approval of the Health Life Safety amendments. As soon as all bond work is complete the construction can begin. Several big projects will be completed this summer but the secure vestibule work will be done in the summer of 2018. Mrs. Greenwood told the board that the mandated water testing for lead had been completed and sent off.

The board did the second reading of Press PLUS 94.

Mrs. Greenwood and Mr. Kepley presented the changes to the elementary, middle and high school 2017-2018 handbooks.

The meeting moved to the art room because of a tornado warning.

A motion was made by J. Strack and seconded by Funk that the executive session minutes of the April 12, 2017 regular meeting of the board of education be approved as presented. Motion carried by a 6-0-1 roll call vote. J. Strack - yes; Fogerson - yes; Stoerger-Flavin - yes; Funk - yes; Rogers - abstain; Scott - yes; D. Strack - yes.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Stoerger-Flavin that the open session minutes of the April 12, 2017 regular meeting of the board of education be approved as presented. Motion carried by a 6-0-1 roll call vote. J. Strack - yes; Fogerson - yes; Funk - yes; D. Strack - yes. Stoerger-Flavin - yes; Rogers - abstain; Scott - yes.

A motion was made by J. Strack and seconded by Stoerger Flavin that the executive session minutes of the May 3, 2017 special meeting of the board of education be approved as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Funk that the open session minutes of the May 3, 2017 special meeting of the board of education be approved as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Funk and seconded by Stoerger-Flavin that the board accept and pay all bills as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

Mrs. Greenwood and the board reviewed the treasurer's report.

A motion was made by D. Strack and seconded by Scott that the board adjourn to executive session at 8:07 p.m. to discuss the employment, compensation and performance of specific staff, and the semi-review of executive session minutes. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Funk that the board adjourn to open session at 8:42 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by J. Strack and seconded by D. Strack that the board approve the hiring of Matthew Guffey as a substitute summer maintenance crew member. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Stoerger-Flavin that the board keep the executive session minutes closed in their entirety due to the sensitive nature of the material. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Fogerson and seconded by Scott that the board induct Nancy Ard, BHS Class of 1962 and Bob Driskill, BHS Class of 1940 into the Bement High School Hall of Fame for 2017. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Funk and seconded by J. Strack that the board approve the nominations of the following to serve two years terms on

the Bement High School Hall of Fame Selection Committee: Pat Marker, Class of 1968; Tabitha Elder, Class of 1999; Molly Stevens, Class of 2000 and Janet Jennings, Class of 1976. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by D. Strack that the board approve the 2017-2018 school fees as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Fogerson that the board approve the PRESS Plus Board Policy updates as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Funk and seconded by Scott that the board approve the changes to the elementary, middle and high school handbooks as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by J. Strack and seconded by D. Strack that the board approve the high school boys' basketball CGB cooperative agreement as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Funk and seconded by Scott that the board approve Doug Kepley's administrative contract as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Stoerger-Flavin that the board adjourn at 8:54 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

BOARD	PRESIDENT	
	~~~~~~	
BOARD	SECRETARY	