BOARD MINUTES BEMENT COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT 5 REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION MAY 14, 2014

The regular meeting of the Bement Community Unit School District 5 Board of Education was held Wednesday, May 14, 2014 in the FACS room. The meeting was called to order by board president Jeanne Strack at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were Jeanne Strack, Todd Scott, Jodi Wright, Valerie Stoerger, Kyle Rogers and Jeff Funk.

Mr. Kepley gave his middle/high school board report on 6-12 enrollment, prom, athletics, the new sound system and the Washington DC trip.

Ms. Greenwood gave her elementary school board report on enrollment and the April Bucket Filler activity.

In her superintendent's report Ms. Greenwood and the board did a second reading of the proposed amendments and updates to the Bement CUSD 5 School Board Policy. Ms. Greenwood told the board that the district had received an Illinois Emergency School Safety Grant in the amount of \$8988. This grant will be used to purchase cameras that will be placed throughout the building and also outside. Ms. Greenwood said that several updates to the building have been or will be completed this year. This includes a wireless network being installed this summer. Buzz-in doors were installed this winter. The new thermostats are controlling the boiler and a new sound system has been installed. Ms. Greenwood also told the board that she spoke with WCIA about their continued inaccurate reporting concerning the school district and the impact that has had on the school and community. After their discussion she feels that WCIA may watch their reporting more closely from now on.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Strack that the executive session minutes of the April 9, 2014 regular meeting of the board of education be approved as presented. Motion carried by a 5-0-1 roll call vote. Wright-yes; Strack-yes; Funk-yes; Rogers-abstain; Stoerger-yes; Scott-yes.

A motion was made by Funk and seconded by Wright that the open session minutes of the April 9, 2014 regular meeting of the board of education be approved as presented. Motion carried by a 5-0-1 roll call vote. Wright-yes; Strack-yes; Funk-yes; Rogers-abstain; Stoerger-yes; Scott-yes.

A motion was made by Strack and seconded by Rogers that the open session minutes of the April 30, 2014 special meeting of the board of education be approved as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Rogers and seconded by Wright that the board accept and pay all bills as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

Ms. Greenwood and the board reviewed the treasurer's report and financial analysis.

A motion was made by Funk and seconded by Stoerger that the board adjourn to executive session at 7:26 p.m. to discuss the employment, compensation and performance of specific staff, the semiannual review of executive session minutes, the selection of a person to fill a public office and the placement of individual students in special education programs. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Wright and seconded by Scott that the board return to open session at 9:23 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Wright and seconded by Funk that the board hire Janelle Devore as a $3^{\rm rd}$ grade teacher for the 2014-2015 school year. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Strack and seconded by Wright that the board hire Beth Hill as a Spanish teacher for the 2014-2015 school year. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Stoerger and seconded by Scott that the board hire Julie Reynolds as an instrumental music teacher for the 2014-2015 school year. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Wright and seconded by Strack that the board hire Rajillia Sullivan as an RtI paraprofessional for the 2014-2015 school year. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Strack and seconded by Wright that the board keep the past six months executive session minutes closed in their entirety due to the sensitive nature of their contents. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Rogers and seconded by Funk that the board induct Robert E. Glennon, Jr., BHS Class of 1966, into the Bement High School Hall of Fame for 2014. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Rogers and seconded by Stoerger that the board induct Mary Hinton Fogel, BHS Class of 1964, into the Bement High School Hall of Fame for 2014. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Strack and seconded by Wright that the board appoint GloAnn Walsh, BHS Class of 1968; Trixie Stoerger-Flavin, BHS Class of 1989 and Wilma Fendley, BHS Class of 1952 to the Bement High School Hall of Fame Selection Committee to serve two year terms. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Scott and seconded by Funk that the board approve the Resolution of Intent to issue working cash bonds as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Stoerger and seconded by Wright that the board adopt a Section 125 Flexible Fringe Benefits Plan for the employees of Bement CUSD 5 to be effective on September 1, 2014 and have administrative services provided by American Fidelity Assurance Company. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Wright and seconded by Scott that the board approve the 2014-2015 school fees as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Strack and seconded by Rogers that the board adopt the board policy updates as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Wright and seconded by Funk that the board appoint Janice Fogerson to fill the vacant board seat until the next regularly scheduled school board election. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Funk and seconded by Scott that the board adjourn at 9:38 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

BOARD	PRESIDENT	
BOARD	SECRETARY	