## BOARD MINUTES BEMENT COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT 5 REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION NOVEMBER 8, 2017

The regular meeting of the Bement Community Unit School District 5 Board of Education was held Wednesday, November 8, 2017 in the FACS room. The meeting was called to order by board president Kyle Rogers at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were Jeff Funk, Kyle Rogers, Jeanne Strack, Trixie Stoerger-Flavin, Janice Fogerson, Denise Strack and Todd Scott.

Mr. Kepley gave his middle school/high school report on athletics, middle school Breakout and PARCC trends.

Russ Leigh, the district's auditor for FY17 told the board that the district had a clean audit and would be in good standing with the State of Illinois.

Mrs. Greenwood gave her elementary school report on adding handicapped equipment to the playground, the awards assembly, filling of the first grade teaching position and the upcoming Veterans Day Assembly.

Mrs. Greenwood gave her superintendent's report on staff development, state finance, the levy, STEM Lab activities and the school leadership team.

A motion was made by Fogerson and seconded by Stoerger-Flavin that the closed session minutes of the October 11, 2017 regular meeting of the board of education be approved as presented. Motion carried by a 6-0-1 roll call vote. Stoerger-Flavin - yes, J. Strack- yes, Fogerson - yes, D. Strack - yes, Scott - yes, Rogers - yes, Funk - abstain.

A motion was made by Rogers and seconded by Scott that the open session minutes of the October 11, 2017 regular meeting of the board of education be approved as presented. Motion carried by a 6-0-1 roll call vote. Stoerger-Flavin - yes, J. Strack- yes, Rogers - yes, Fogerson - yes, D. Strack - yes, Scott - yes, Funk - abstain.

A motion was made by Funk and seconded by D. Strack that the board accept and pay all bills as presented. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

Mrs. Greenwood and the board reviewed the treasurer's report.

A motion was made by J. Strack and seconded by Rogers that the board adjourn to closed session at 8:17 p.m. to discuss the semi-annual review of closed session minutes, the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance or dismissal of specific employees. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by J. Strack and seconded by D. Strack that the board adjourn to open session at 8:51 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Funk and seconded by Rogers that the board approve the Resolution Regarding Estimated Amounts Necessary to be Levied for the Year 2017. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Fogerson and seconded by Stoerger-Flavin that the board keep the past six months closed session minutes closed in their entirety due to the sensitive nature of the material. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by D. Strack and seconded by J. Strack that the board appoint Michele Lindenmeyer as the certified evaluator for the Superintendent in order to be compliant with the Performance Evaluation Reform Act due to the Superintendent's dual role as Prek-5 Principal. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Fogerson and seconded by Stoerger-Flavin that the board employ Lindsey Minton as assistant softball coach for the 2017-2018 school year. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Rogers and seconded by Funk that the board employ Sara Stimson as a first grade teacher for the 2017-2018 school year. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Fogerson and seconded by Stoerger-Flavin that the board dismiss Stephanie Johnson effective October 31, 2017. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by Funk and seconded by D. Strack that the board accept the resignation of Ted Culpepper. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion was made by D. Strack and seconded by Fogerson that the board adjourn at 8:57 p.m. Motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

		 	-
BOARD	PRESIDENT		
BOARD	SECRETARY		